Poets logo

growing pains

making

By River JoyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
41
"Nope" River 2023

i haven't made much lately

my words come slowly

my canvases are blank

whoever said pain creates art

i think they were wrong

or their timing was off

pain is experience

and experience is time

and time and experience come together

to make work

Van Gogh's most productive year

was when he was being treated

so maybe there's something to be said

about art and joy

but, my words feel hollow

and the colors just don't blend the right way

my heartbeat does not flow

with these verses

i've learned something this time

though my words feel hollow

and my paintbrushes are dry

i will fight using these

hollow words

until they feel

whole again

surreal poetrysad poetry
41

About the Creator

River Joy

I make things with paint and words and light. I was once described as an asshole with Mr. Rogers vibes.

Facebook

[email protected]

Tic Tok Poetry Readings

Buy Me a Coffee

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I've been feeling this so much lately. What an honest piece, thank you for sharing in such a beautiful way. Congratulations on Top Story :)

  • MARIE ODEMS 10 months ago

    KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK BEAUTIFUL 💜

  • Shivani Parekh10 months ago

    We all experience this kind of a phase in life, in fact, I was too going through it. But somehow, I got out of it. I know you will too, just have faith and keep going! Thanks a lot for writing this heartfelt poem!

  • Harmony Kent10 months ago

    This is so relatable. Some days my pain inspires, but most times I’m knocked flat. You’ve expressed this with wonderful imagery. I especially love the ‘dry paintbrushes’. Thanks for sharing, River 💕🙂

  • Gal Mux10 months ago

    Deep and a very growth relationship with pain ... Congrats on TS

  • Ash Taylor10 months ago

    Spectacular work, thank you for sharing!

  • Well deserved Top Story🎉💖✨📝Congratulations and Thanks for Writing this❗

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Well done. I believe your poem has touched many people as it has touched me.Just very well done!! Congrats on your Top Story.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Wonderful poem, River. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • WOA10 months ago

    I really love this whole piece. These particular lines struck a chord with me. "pain is experience / and experience is time / and time and experience come together / to make work" , "but, my words feel hollow / and the colors just don't blend the right way / my heartbeat does not flow / with these verses." I really just love this whole piece, i'm stopping myself from quoting more.

  • Kelsey Clarey10 months ago

    This so beautiful and so relateable. <3

  • Ifeoluwa Ajayi10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/education/the-digital-nexus-l9sv0w7j The future of technologies and electronic Click the link for the fascinating evolution of technologies and electronic

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    I can totally relate right now, and I really love your comparison to dry paintbrushes. I felt that! You did a wonderful job with this one! Congrats on top story!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I agree with you, River. You can’t rush art when ( like you said) your heart doesn’t flow with these verses. Just knowing that proves you know the difference between being connected to the source and not being connected. This was so relatable. Thank you for putting it into words. And congrats! 💖

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I read this a couple of days ago and meant to write a comment. Guess what, here's my comment. Congrats on the Top Story, River. This is so relatable. Keep going though, and this poem will be helpful to you and many others!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh, I felt this deeply ❤️ Your words are so powerful here, even if you don't feel like they are! Sending you hugs ❤️❤️❤️ Amazing job with this!

  • Aphotic10 months ago

    This is so relatable. They will definitely feel whole again. You are a true artist. Sometimes we all just need a break even from the things we love to see them with fresh eyes/perspective.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Nicely done. Keep up the good fight.

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Very relatable, and beautifully expressed. Love the video.

  • Joelle E🌙10 months ago

    Art and joy ❤️ reminds me of Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. Thanks for these words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.