Poets logo

Growing Old is a Privilege

Plastic Surgery is a Distraction

By Real PoeticPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
27

Drop 10 years off your face.

Inject some plastic to look great.

Slow down…

Thanks, but I’m good—

Respectfully.

Aging is such a lovely journey.

Can’t wait to age with grace.

Thoughts of growing old fills me with joy.

I want the wrinkles. I’m no toy.

Of course I’ll miss being young some days…

No life is grand being young forever though.

Thank you so much for reading. 💕

slam poetrysocial commentaryinspirationalart
27

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Another great entry. You were good at these.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Now, you see: you are also gifted!

  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    Awesome job!! You go girl!!

  • Adeel Arif11 months ago

    Super poem ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Lovely work! Love the message!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Great topic for the challenge! Thankfully, plastic surgery has never once crossed my mind as something to do to myself. I don't get it. Why be afraid of getting old? Embrace the wrinkles, show off that gray hair!

  • This is such a great take. Good job 👏

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    As to the pics at top…, I like the “before” shot better. I hate looking at plasticized faces. This is on point and insightful. Good work. BTW, I’m 60 years old with no plastic, tattoos, or extra holes not given me by nature. Lol. My wife of 38 years is 56 now, and still naturally beautiful.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Indeed, growing old is a privilege. Thank you for welcoming me into your mind. I enjoyed the poem.

  • J. Jay11 months ago

    Beautiful poem. We need more content that gives a positive outlook on aging

  • Aging without the aches and pains would make it more tolerable! lol Very well done, RP!

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    I've just decided to stop dyeing my hair. Our society is too focused on youth. Being over 50 is fabulous and I am happy to be shades of white! Great acrostic, well done.

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    AMAZING!!!!!!!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    👏 👏 that was really well done!! This says so much and so concisely. I loved the way you used the “Slow down…” part.

  • Remarkable ❤️📝❗

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Nicely done and I agree.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.