Poets logo

Grave Manipulations

A Villanelle

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10
Grave Manipulations
Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

Grave Manipulations

Will I take this feeling to my lone grave?

Not everyone appreciates my smile

in this deafened, mute crowd. Who can I save?

***

Sweet baby, learning quickly to behave;

keep silent, happy, never heard - beguile.

Will I take this feeling to my lone grave?

***

How does a simple girl become so brave?

Dirt stood, shoveled, in a threatening pile

for the deafened, mute crowd. Who can I save?

***

For too long, I remained a trusted slave;

skeletons kept me voiceless for awhile.

Will I take this feeling to my lone grave?

***

Forgive me now, as in a fit, I rave

so as not to not leave still another child

in this deafened, mute crowd. Who can I save?

***

Now some follow along a path I pave

by writing your bloody, dark denial.

Will I take this feeling to my lone grave?

In this deafened, mute crowd, who can I save?

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️😉Awesome read❗

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Well written. Great imagery with words that flow together well.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    dark, yet beautiful. Well done.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Not everyone can pull off a successful Villanelle. This one was put together with finesse. Great job!

  • The line 'In this deafened, mute crowd, who can I save' was soooo powerful! Loved this poem!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Another powerful one. Full of darkness, but worded with beautifully. Thank you for sharing ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.