Poets logo

Grave Flight

A Sprouting of Wings.

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Grave Flight
Photo by Samanraj Raja on Unsplash

Grave Flight

A Sprouting of Wings

My shadow darkens your tombstone

as I soar overhead, unbound.

On the currents of the wind, I fly -

my stagnant freedom found.

***

With a caw, I sing my piece

carried through the air,

making new leaves rustle

with sunshine’s precious care.

***

Your death is now my lifeblood;

buried grievances renewed.

A sleeping purpose found me,

in a voice, potential grew.

***

With strength, my wings are guided

by the promise of the day.

A resurrection is uncovered,

a sunrise shows the way.

Thank you for reading! Inspiration comes from the most unexpected places sometimes.

nature poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Beautiful. I love the imagery and movement in this piece. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.