Poets logo

Grave Digger

or is it robber?

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Grave Digger
Photo by Lucas van Oort on Unsplash

Grave Digger

You robbed me of a hidden trust

I didn’t even know,

and replaced it with a secret

I never was to show.

***

Something died inside of me,

maybe it was you.

From this hole, I cannot see

whose body split in two.

***

In shame, I am sequestered;

my words, soft-spoken, were untrue,

offering protection

with a smile never blue.

***

Am I safely six feet under?

Buried quickly in your fright.

To keep safe greedy selfishness,

you’ll pray with all your might.

***

Dirty tracks behind you,

your shovel sparkles in the light.

While in the dark, I tremble,

afraid now of the night.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Powerful and honest, Keila. This filled me with so much emotion. Thank yoi for sharing ❤️❤️

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Very powerful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.