Poets logo

Goodbye

Poem

By Huzaifa MalikPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Goodbye
Photo by Sven Brandsma on Unsplash

Holding onto my daughter's hand, I saw my wife cry,
I couldn't touch them, none can say I didn't try.
Thinking about what we've been through, how we got over our fears,
I wanted to cry, but how exactly? I have got no tears.
As I turned, I saw a beautiful picture of me,
A candle lit in front of it, I fell to my knee.


I saw some people, i knew and didn't know, sigh
Whispering under their breath, "he wasn't such a bad guy"
My entire life was not how I wanted it to be,
And I want to know if anyone's gonna miss me?
I didn't do much or maybe my family expected more,
I can't do anything about it now, I have reached the shore.


I'll start my life again as a baby,
I'll be heard crying in the arms of someone, maybe.
But this time, I'll grow up to be a better, righteous man
Spreading love and being happy, that's my plan.
I won't hate anyone or anything, that's for sure
In my previous life I was diseased, yes I was insecure.


But today, Here I stand before you, with head held high,
looking everyone dead in the eye
and bidding goodbye
for i have spent my time, paid for my sin,
So, for the last time, you all see me grin...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.