Poets logo

Goodbye

The Word That Doesn’t Lie

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Goodbye
Photo by DDP on Unsplash

Standing in the rain,

screaming at the sky

A voice inside me whispers,

help is on the way

~

Falling to the ground,

my hands raised to the sky

You heard my crying,

you said, help is on the way

By Billy Pasco on Unsplash

How many days now , god it seems like years,

I’ve been alone, drowning in these tears

My friends abandoned, left me here to die,

the pain it lingers, oh, why’d you say goodbye

~

My thoughts are heavy

my hearts a ghost town,

A hollow shell, filled with distant memories

I feel your fingers lightly trace my face,

but it’s not real, just my mind playing games

By Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

You said forever, always and anon

they were just words, tattoos on my skin

When things got hard you packed up and moved on,

I’m left alone, paying penance for our sins

~

I know better now, no help is coming

no one to rescue, no one to save

You were that hero, the one I thought could heal me,

I hear the whispers, I’m too far gone to save

By Christopher Paul High on Unsplash

My fate is clear, this is reality,

No one is coming,

no happy end for me

Live like a ghost in this town that is my heart,

alone and haunted tattooed with these scars

Goodbyes never lie

Goodbyes never lie

It’s true, goodbyes don’t lie

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.