Poets logo

Good Vs Evil

The battle within: a poem by Ken Cruz

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Gods a knocking But I’m afraid to let him in

I think Id rather let sin win

Take her for another spin

Feel my hair blowing in the wind

Be able to smile that devilish grin

Cause when I try to ride by his sons light I always wind up losing the fight

Things always end in plight

I guess either way they end with with decaying blight

At least I can enjoy the ride and neon lights I can repent and atone tomorrow night

Maybe then this could be alright

In the mean time tired of life feeling of trite

I mean I’m supposed to be woke right

Then why do I feel entombed like a mummy in a sarcophagus

Stuck clinging to every short gaping breath

There's aslim sliver of remaining taste because it feel like there’s a stone blocking my esophagus

I’m running hard and winded But look down to see im on a treadmill stuck in place...

Or maybe I'm just in quick sand and it's dragging me down

Perhaps something more sinister

He wants my soul I already know

I want to fight it But either way it feels like hell

No good deed goes unpunished

And once your in his grasp what can you do but plunder and pillage

Trying to rise

Trying to survive only to be left in the end

Not knowing what’s real

Or exactly how to feel

When it’s all burnt down And it’s quiet enough to hear ashes falling like snowflakes to the ground

And no one is around

Just whispers from both sides abound

But only clouds of hazy smoke are to be found

How can you trust yourself to make a decision that’s sound

The battle of good vs evil wages on

Within me and within you

Whatever shall we do

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.