Poets logo

Good Intentions

I could say this was a poem about procrastination. But I'll do that later.

By Martin EstridgePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

When I get out of bed, you’ll be certain and sure

I’ll provide some grand scheme for relief of the poor.

I shall combat injustice, by land and by sea

And the world will rejoice. Just you leave it with me.

When I get out of bed, there are grand things in store.

But not yet. I shall sleep, I think, five minutes more.

............................................................................................

When I finish dinner, I shall end all the wars.

End the conflicts and battles a good man abhors.

And the nations will see a brand new Golden Age

When my efforts release humankind from its cage.

I shall get to it soon, but right now I must dine.

I have promised you freedom. Will you pass me the wine?

................................................................................................

Sometime later this week, I’ll begin the good fight.

Through the strength of my arm, ev’ry wrong I shall right.

Fear ye not, ye good souls, for your hero shall rise

To frighten the Devil with a flash of his eyes.

You can count off the days. Your salvation is near.

Maybe this week. Or next. Surely sometime this year.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Martin Estridge

Occasional actor, infrequent writer, amateur photographer, aspiring electrician.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.