Poets logo

Good Enough

he said I'd never learn.

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Is nothing ever good enough?

He said I'd never learn

He said I couldn't be happy

With everything I've earned

He told me that I'm everything

That I'll ever be

He told me that I couldn't sing

And I would never see

Contentment is just what I need

Oh, how blind must I be

What he meant was: stay here please

Stay with me and watch me bleed

All your dreams into the drain

Watch your brain just melt away

Like gold before it fits the mold

Like youth, you feel you're growing old

Like time, it slips and now behold

All that you've accomplished

Look at you now you're finished

Look just how you've managed

To turn ashes into ashes

To light nothing with those matches

Out of sight and oh so squandered

Oh, how you never got to wander

What you've sought was just so bland

Caught this mediocre man

Is this all you dreamed

When you were only seventeen?

Is it all that it once seemed?

Oh babe, the world can be so mean

But nothing can compare

To when you're standing over there

Shaking in your skin so bare

Eyes so big and unaware

Of the danger in a friend

Not in strangers, but in your head

In the person in your bed

In the one you deemed your mate

So it seemed, but now too late

To turn away, so stay

To see it through and wait

To die by familiar hands

By this mediocre man

By this reassuring touch

Is nothing ever good enough?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.