Poets logo

Gone are the Days

The loss of Friendship

By Jillian A. WeissPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Gone are the Days
Photo by Charlein Gracia on Unsplash

Gone are the days when we sat together. Gone are the days, where we laughed and played in the sunshine. You were the tomboy, I was the little princess. The one that held your hand and told you that it would be ok. And in my child-like innocence, I thought you would forever stay.

That you would ever be my friend through thick and thin. Through tears and joy. Then one day my faith was misplaced when he came and swept you away. Walking down a path that I could not follow. I thought I knew you, but I guess, I was wrong. You were the first treasure that I would let go of. Goodbye, my friend, it grieves me that I must shut the door.

But I refuse to be naive, you always were the headstrong one, once you've made a choice there is no going back. I pray to God, that you'll one day wake up. And see that you were always enough.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jillian A. Weiss

I'm 24 years old looking to put myself out there as a writer and make my voice heard. I write poetry and fiction. I may branch out into other genres too. If you like my work please leave a tip!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.