Poets logo

Go Tell the Whole World

How You Dropped Me

By Earl CarlsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Go Tell the Whole World
Photo by Strvnge Films on Unsplash

Go tell the whole world how you dropped me.

Tell yourself that you've forgot me.

And try to tell the difference between lust and really loving me.

But, in the hush of early evening,

when your mind is make believing,

I'll come sneaking in the back door of your memory.

I have roomed with many roomies,

and I've done and had done to me.

But the world is growing older, and my friends are turning grey.

'Cause the present slipped right past me.

and my future didn't last me.

And I can't tell the difference 'tween next week and yesterday.

So tell the whole world how you dropped me.

Tell yourself that you've forgot me.

And try to tell the difference between lust and really loving me.

But, in the hush of early evening,

when your mind is make believing,

I'll come creeping up the back stairs of your memory.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Earl Carlson

My stories/essays have appeared in the Eunoia Review: the Blue Lake Review: Firewords Quarterly, the Beorh Quarterly, and The Mensa Bulletin, Buried Letter Press: and Novella T, among others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.