Poets logo

Glass Prison

My Heartache

By Paige WitherspoonPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Disclaimer: I do not own this photo.

I can see you through these walls of glass, and it makes my heart ache.

I want to reach out and touch your heart, but it seems so far away.

You reach out to me, and my body, on its own pulls to your embrace.

But as I step toward your arms, there are always glass walls in my way.

I'm trying hard to shatter all this glass, but it never seems to break.

If only we could break them down, and finally stand face to face.

My heart is always calling through this prison made of glass.

And with each empty echo, time is flying by so fast.

I'm beating on these cold hard walls as you slip beyond my grasp.

My screams that once had strength before are becoming empty rasps.

I'm trying with all my might to escape from this see through trap.

But on my own its not enough to break through these walls at last.

If only you would have the strength to face these walls like me.

Then maybe together we could break them down and finally be free.

If you had the will to tear them down, then maybe you could see.

Together we can escape this glass prison and let things be at peace.

If you could hear me calling out to you, you'd realize just what I mean.

Then maybe, just maybe, together we could put our hearts at ease.

But as I scream and struggle to escape this prison made of glass,

I begin to see through these walls, that I'm screaming at your back.

As I pound these walls and cry your name, I feel my limbs go slack.

While you slowly fade away, I realize you're gone and that is that.

As I stare into the dark, and pray to be free of this cold glass trap,

I know that I never will, because on my own I can't even make a crack.

So I resign my desperate attempt to reach you, hang my head and cry.

I hoped that we could destroy this glass prison, and together we could fly.

But now you've turned your back on me, and won't look me in the eye.

I wished that you would break this prison down, but you didn't even try,

Why did I believe your words, and hope that every word wasn't a lie.

You've turned your back on me like all the rest, and left me here to die.

I can't see you through these walls of glass, and it makes my heart ache.

I wanted to reach out and touch your heart, but now you've gone away.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Paige Witherspoon

I have a passion for literature and writing📚✒️ 🤓 I like to post poetry and am working on a few other projects .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.