Poets logo

Girl with big brown eyes

If you could say one thing to a younger you, what would it be?

By Lika TsoiPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
2

Hey, you, a girl with big brown eyes!

You dress so cute and seem so nice

I wonder if we have met before

Tell me, what are you here for

You seem familiar, but I can't explain.

It's like we have been through the same.

To me, it looks like you are hurt inside

Your eyes are red, so I know you've cried.

You smile and tell everyone that you're okay.

But there are a lot of things you do not say.

You are kind and friendly to everyone.

Your life seems perfect, and you have fun.

But if you are here, then something's wrong.

There is no need to fake you're strong.

It's okay to let your guards down and let me in.

I'm trying to help and not get under your skin.

Don't hold your tears, and don't fake your smile.

For once, be honest with yourself for a while.

If you don't feel like it, we don't have to talk.

We can stay inside or go for a walk.

It feels like they hear you, but you aren't ever heard.

You are always in a crowd, but you don't say a word.

You don't make any jokes because they don't laugh.

You think you aren't worth it and ain't good enough.

For me, you are perfect and funny and smart.

Please stay true to yourself and follow your heart.

Cry when you want to, don't be scared to fall,

Keep your head up high, and always stand tall.

Hey, you, a girl with big brown eyes,

You dress so cute and seem so nice.

I smile when you smile, and I cry if you cry.

When you're happy, I'm happy too. I lie when you lie.

Hey, you a girl with big brown eyes,

You dress so cute and seem so nice.

You look like someone I once knew.

You'll soon be me because I'm you.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Lika Tsoi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.