Poets logo

Girl in the Mirror

Me and my girl

By A Rustic Mind (Manali Desai)Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Girl in the Mirror
Photo by Caroline Veronez on Unsplash

She looked at me for the first time today,

Confused she looked at me in a strange way.

A long time for her to understand it took,

But she continued to stand and look.

Different kind of expressions we both tried

Once she smiled, I smiled back, and that was the beginning of our ride.

We’ve had a bumpy ride,

But mostly we’ve taken it in good stride.

Her smiles make me happy, her tears make me cry

We can’t stay away from each other much even if we try.

One day she came and asked me aloud “Am I a slut?”

Her body was full of wounds; on her face was a deep cut.

She looked at me and screamed and cried aloud

A vase was thrown at me as never again she’d do it she vowed.It has been many days since then

All I see now is a black curtain

Once she did move the blind

Even I couldn’t look at the face behind!

That’s not my girl I thought

As she screamed and cried, again the blackness both of us fought.

A few rays of light hit after a while

As my girl threw the curtain away in a pile

A boy came from behind and took her in his arms

She hugged him back as he said, “I’ll never bring you any harm.”

I have been moved to a new room

My girl and I our routine resume

She looks at me every day again

Her face, though changed, seems content.

Her shape slowly changed as her tummy began to swell,

The boy is around a lot and takes care of her quite well.

My girl’s old face stood before me after so long,

Behind her stood my girl saying, “That’s who will stand by you all along”

So we are now back to where we began

And I’m happy to have my friend again.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A Rustic Mind (Manali Desai)

Author | Editor | Blogger | Literary Critic | Freelance Writer | Content Creator |

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.