Poets logo

Gifted Darkness

To the man who gifted me my pain

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 3 years ago • 1 min read
Like
Gifted Darkness
Photo by Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

Lightning storms filled our skies,

Stolen kisses behind closed doors.

My best friend wrapped up all in one package,

Our revolving door arguments,

Would last for weeks on end.

Unanswered calls.

Anxiety-filled text messages.

Bills that seemed to tower over our heads.

Broken promises on both of our ends

Sunny rise trailer park trash

That's what we were together.

My forgiving heart was damaged long before

The firestorm of rage between us,

Our shared broken-hearted nights that seemed to never end.

Empty-filled promises.

Broken toys and smashed chair legs,

Burned bridges in the end.

The shattered glass will always surround us.

We each never received a damn thing

Besides a gifted box of darkness.

It was my favourite type of treat.

Ultimately,

I know I broke my own damn heart.

Being the good girl who stayed until the very end.

Chloe Rose Violet

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.