Poets logo

Ghost Cat

A poem I wrote based on a dream about my mum’s missing cat.

By Chloe GilholyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

There’s a foul stench around the shed

But only summer plants seem dead

He’s been missing for three months

The house is drained of fun

There’s flyers and posters everywhere

how could these prank era even dare

say they seen a look a like but it wasn’t him

We hope someone sheltered him and

When he goes to the vet they will see his chip

But there’s a chance he’s crawled somewhere alone to die

It’s the not knowing that keeps me up at night

He came to be in a dream with his whiskers and orange paws

It was happy to see him come home

But the house we were in is not our home

I open my eyes and there’s a cat’s shadow with a missing body…

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • bythehill3 months ago

    This account was made for the sole purpose of leaving this comment; this poem breaks my heart. I can't imagine the pain you and your mom must feel not knowing what happened to your little friend. I think that not knowing is certainly one reason I find the tragedy of a missing cat to be sorrowful but I always wonder if missing cats ever feel that they've been abandoned or that their owner no longer wants them. And I'm not saying that to make you feel in anyway worse but just to share my thoughts and to say that I too hope that your missing cat one day shows up if not then I hope he has been welcomed into a loving home.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.