Poets logo

Get Help

A journey of discovery

By Kaylee GilmanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
4
Get Help
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

My bed is my happy place

But no one seems to understand

You see the world stops and I am met with a peace only my bed can comprehend

Get out of bed they say; don’t be lazy

But why do my friends and family hate me?

What do you get, what is it that drives you?

Please don’t let my depression fool you.

When I’m happy, sad or mad

Whether it’s hypomania or another depressive episode

My bed always has my back

My bed never hurts me with harsh realities, nor does it criticize

Instead it welcomes me with arms wide open to sleep away the thoughts that scrutinize

Just get up they say, you will be fine

But how am I suppose to be fine when the thoughts that eat me alive say otherwise?

Just let me be in my own dysfunction

I don’t need another family function.

Listen to me-just please-I am pleading

Don’t listen to yourself- you are kind and you are worthy

In fact, you are blind to the beauty, light and warmth you carry.

It’s okay to not be okay, and I know it can be scary

It’s okay to get help, I personally recommend therapy.

Here I am now and it’s been so long

I am so much better now, so please don’t prolong

Invest in yourself, get better -get help

You are your building foundation and no one else

I know I am kind and I know I am worthy

And I know the warmth inside that I carry

I know that I am loved and I know that people care

So those thoughts don’t dare

I am bright, I am genuine and I often shine

I’ve discovered life’s not so bad and it’ll be alright.

Tips are always appreciated and go towards my help, thank you!

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Kaylee Gilman

Painting is my passion and writing is my newest hobby. Join me on my journey where creativity meets mystery.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.