Poets logo

GarsWood Hall

North West Coal Mines

By marie381uk Published 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Garswood all

A lad of 14 left school, the next day he was given a job down the pit

He had a terrible accident within hours of joining it.

Oh he was just a child why why oh why

He missed footed stepping into the cage, poor lad fell down to death

Too soon he left the coal pit, his light was put out.

Gone to his eternal sleep for ever more just like his dad

The lads name I do not know, sadness came. it's happened so long ago

Just one of the many children killed before their time.

Mothers and fathers, don't let your kids work work the coal mines

Like the 100 or before him, may they all rest their eternal souls

The mothers weep, the child is lost down so deep underground

Some returned to the families, others never to be found.

It's just a way of life, weep ye all, tragedy lurks deep underground

Coal miners communities are scattered all around The north west

Hard work and the need to survive puts everyone to the test.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

marie381uk

My Name is Marie, I write mainly poetry

I write subjects that I lean towards. No poetry by me, is related to me in any way unless I state it is. I have loved poetry from being 14 years old. Life is a poem grab a pen a tell your story xx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.