Poets logo

Gaining Speed

And a bucket list?

By Katie Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Gaining Speed
Photo by Sophie Louisnard on Unsplash

Tumbling, spinning, runaway life.

Even sitting still, it gains speed. Rushing past in blurred days.

Never pausing, always forward, burning my days, despite attempts at slowing the pace.

An all out push without my consent.

I’ve lived more days than I will live.

The knowledge of that a nagging voice, a reminder of my mortality.

Mere days or decades yet away. Not knowing the number left, though it is now one less.

How can I fit it all in? Sitting here as it rushes past, not yet satisfied with stagnating.

So I rise, and live my days, like so many others. Hopefully, finding some peace with the passage.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.