Poets logo

Future’s shadow

The pull of the past

By Katie Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Future’s shadow
Photo by Dominik Martin on Unsplash

I stand poised, my toes touching tomorrow.

All the days that I’ve lived, trailing out behind me.

What seemed to take forever to arrive, now confronts me.

I need only to step forward, and in doing so, leave the past behind.

The past that I would have lived differently, should I, have had the chance.

Yet now that it stares me in the face, I falter. It’s shadow looms over me, diminishing my resolve.

There is resistance, it

is not my own.

Where I had hoped for support and acceptance, there is only condemnation.

Wanting nothing more, than for me to return to the past, and live in that manner. Hardly being able to look at, let alone be with, me.

There is no turning back, there is only forward.

I will...........step forward, regardless of the repercussions.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.