Poets logo

Future

PRECIOUS STONES!

By Victor MendezPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

May 17, 2016

If I dare not speak,

Then, will I gaze in tranquility

At that for which I yearn.

You question how I write.

Of that,

I am unsure...

I write as if words are precious stones,

Tossed into the air,

Land in disarray..

Nonchalant, without a care.

Such gems,

What symmetry in their facets, In their flaws.

Words...

Are leaves falling from the trees.

How ironic,

When the branches fail,

When the trees, they're gone..

When words,

Are leaves unhomed,

Undone,

Where will our stories be?

I humbly ask,

Where to will your words they flee?

A futile quest, I know.

Nonetheless...

I write because..

Tears are of no avail!

They leave,

Disappear..but!

My words will cleave,

Like lemon tartened bits of honey!

Bitter...

Sweet!

I write, for I must!

I must, for I can!

A future remind,

Of what made me man

ADVERT for what I was listening to when I wrote this. enjoy

art
Like

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.