Poets logo

Frost Filled Darkness

I have hope that someday I will have hope.

By Devin ThorpePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

No light, not even in the fire.

Plenty of words coming from the liar.

Will the sun rise on the morrow?

Frost filled darkness breeds darkness filled sorrow.

How is it possible for a fire to be so dark?

No light, not even a spark.

The sun stood still for Joshua, it never rose for me.

Slave to my own knowledge, is this how it feels to be free?

Knowledge brings daytime, for me it brought night.

Knowledge brings peace, but every day I fight.

What use is heat if it doesn't warm?

What use is a void if it is without form?

I've flown like an eagle, now my wings are broken.

God said he wouldn't leave me behind but he must've mispoken.

My soul is infected because I stabbed it with a thorn,

And it's turned me into a void without form.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Devin Thorpe

I am a 22-year-old recent graduate from Mars Hill University. I have a double major in Criminal Justice and Religion & Philosophy. I also played collegiate lacrosse! In my free time you can find me writing fiction and hiking with my dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.