Poets logo

"From Myself"

(lyrics)

By Ash MPWPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

People come and go, but voices stay forever.

The negative, the positive, the indifferent, the cruel…

Voices of the past, the voices of now

Raspy whispers from behind me

Panic starts to creep into my chest

My internal organs open a void deep inside me.

Falling, Sinking, pulling me down inside myself.

Burying myself alive, trying to survive.

Suffocating my emotions and my thoughts.

I just want to breathe.

I just want to be me.

I just want to be free… From Myself!

Raspy whispers chanting my name.

Panic creeps through my head and my limbs,

Leaving my body motionless and cold.

My hands reach out of my internal void.

Begging for relief of a rescue.

The void drags me further and further inside.

I just want to breathe.

I just want to be me.

I just want to be free… From Myself!

Clawing, digging, scratching my way out.

Darkness is closing all around me.

The voices are blaring my insecurities.

Will I ever escape my own hell?

No one can save me but myself.

Tears flow from my aching eyes.

Dripping onto the ground where I lay.

Curled-up, trembling, silent crying.

I just want to breathe.

I just want to be me.

I just want to be free… From Myself!

Free from My Internal Turmoil!

Free from my learned insecurities!

Free from the toxic voices inside me!

I want to love me!

I need to love me!

Self-Love will set me free!

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ash MPW

I write all different types of writing. I am always open to learning more and doing more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.