Poets logo

Friends

By: Jess A. Fox

By Jessica A. FoxPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Ab-ne-gate v. To deny; to refuse or renounce; to relinquish or surrender.

It was a war from the start,

Ride or die, we had heart.

Push through the hardest of things together,

To separate us was not like a blow of a feather.

We’d come together more than often,

Sad to say our partners felt like a body in a coffin.

But then our colors started to show,

Putting an end to the friendship show.

The partners said it was done and we finally agree.

No more ride or die take advantage of me.

Was it a ride or die, or a do you one as you do two,

The stories of our partners finally came true.

One would take advantage and the other would give in,

Then again it was for both, I believed equal time was given.

But now I gave in, I know that it’s true,

What’s one favor out of 2022?

Regardless of the friendship, we always came through.

Though I asked less, I felt it was equal too.

I caved to my partner but the friendship will always be a memory

No more sugar mama role or wipe your tears heavily.

I’d always use money and you’d always give me a bed,

It's confusing to understand who used who in my head.

slam poetrysad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Jessica A. Fox

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.