Poets logo

FRIDAY NIGHT LINK

Urban Poetry or Rap ? Plus add a bit of Romance!.

By Emmanuel AtunsiriPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Poetry was my first insight into the realm of Hip Hop and music. What made me curious was how and why words can be constructed into sentences to help paint the scenery or mood you are trying to describe or set. Simile and Metaphors and more! It can take some a while to master this while others it can be a gradual process.

I pulled this up from the archives once I knew I was this platform had a section for Poetry enthusiast. The song I make reference to is by a former underground artist by the name of Essence B with a track entitled "Friday Night Link". As soon as you hear the music it throws you off as it comes across a little Old Skool when compared to today generations taste in music, and the words although rap sound very poetic like while romancing his words to describe his state of mind, his feelings towards the lady character in his plot while engaging the audience on this journey.

The question I would like to ask is Can Rap lyrics be considered poetry ? Bear in mind the Commercialization of Gangster Rap and the stereotypes attached to so-called conscious rappers.

Well, give this a read and see what you think. First, let me set the mood. Imagine you the Guy, cruising with your woman, out for a good time, and the tentions are high. You both know what is going to happen at the end of the night so you are smoothly enjoying the companionship until your Friday Night Link really turns up the temperatures...

[Verse One]

I hope your ears have reception,

Cause me and Love are on for course a collision,

To understand Love you don't have to be a Mathematician,

Just a damn good Physician, I'm a Man on a mission,

2 point 4 kids plus a country house in the sticks,

Put the kids to sleep, make you feel a couple of feet,

Then work that ass to sleep,

You know I'm talking too soon,

But I can make things happen in a full moon,

A little Romantic,

But Big Brother says I'm a little problematic,

Can't go out without more than a score,

So like David Beckham my Freekicks bend The Law,

To the right hand post, Then I ghost,

Then I bring the champagne back to toast.

[Verse Two]

Still love my Sunday Roast,

But I'm taking my game to the International Coast,

Never find me in the lost and found,

And I still be burning when Collie Budd Come Around,

She accepts my faults cause I can be difficult and sometimes complicated,

Hit the dance floor like its X-rated,

She's high off life I ain't far from being wasted!

And she knows where the Cake is,

Business minded and still knows where the Ghetto is,

Sexy like Beyonce, Mad like Kelis,

She's got me on a Leash!

And she's got to be a freak,

And still hold a mean lady walk in the streets,

When times are tough we make ends meet,

When times are good we're under the sheets.

[Verse Three]

I can change the game for you,

I mean I can turn the River Thames into something Ocean Blue,

Do what I am supposed to do,

I wonder if I can put a mans body in the grave for you,

Run on some Bonnie & Clyde shit,

Cause every Superhero needs a Side-kick,

Bounce with a Ounce you know the flick,

With a suitcase combination that makes it go flip,

A good Housewife I ain't Sexist,

If my money gets dirty then I know she's laundering shit,

Hide a few bills in her cleavage,

Plus she's got me tripped over some beverage,

And she knows what the times is,

Bruce Willis A true die hard chick,

She ain't afraid to go down for a favor,

I ain't talking about HM I'm talking about flavors.

[End]

Now add some music and you might just have a nice R&B ish type rap tune..

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.