Poets logo

Freedom

No Longer Trapped

By The Girl in GreyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Written 3/2/2008

At the end of the day, what's left of me?

If I can be happy, might as well try to make someone else.

The world wants everything that I need.

That's fine with me, all I need is myself.

Take the ground I walk on, the oxygen in my lungs.

Grab me by the neck and force my voice box out.

Like Ursula, force your hands down the throat that sung.

You can have my shoes and house that won't make me doubt.

It doesn't matter if it's made of ice or grass, as long as I have a road.

Please help yourself to the money in my purse or the pride in my stomach.

Angels gave me wings and I intend to use them.

Again, take it all, cowardice and you are a perfect fit.

None of the gold, none of the bricks matter in the end.

When the suns about to sleep, the horizon speaks.

Saying it will always be there when I need it.

I'll rise beyond skyscrapers, into a place where there are no needs.

Ive gotten there, I'm free, no more nest, no more orphaned kid.

Break all the bones in my body, and all the hopes in my soul.

Shave my skin off, let there be nothing to hide.

Let the sky always cry with me, with emotions so full.

I'm no longer trapped on the inside.

Love always,

Chayle

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.