Poets logo

Franklin Street

a poem about community

By Ally MurphyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Stained sidewalks,

sprained ankles,

recycling bins the size of sinkholes,

flies, always, in the kitchen,

neighbors studying reiki

and taking their nephew to the Tupac Museum,

neighbors who keep their doors open

and shout in "can I walk the dog?"

because both my feet are in braces,

neighbors who do pilates and love vitamin D

and ask me to hike with them at 6:30 am,

fog,

neighbors who become friends,

friends who bring me mushroom tacos

when I catch covid, though I insist

it's not a bad case.

What I'll remember is this:

it's not the sun,

it's the breeze

that's surprising.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Ally Murphy

LA-based writer, experimenting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nicole Caldwell2 years ago

    I love this vivid piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.