Poets logo

Found My Way

But you can't take my soul, I won't give you my life

By Joanne MacdermottPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Pushed through the veil of society fought through all the lies. Felt the pressure to conform to you...suffocating inside.

You silenced my voice, cared not for my rights, made me feel unworthy....kept me inside.

But you can't take my soul, I won't give you my life...push all you like but I will always fight.

You spewed forth your words with such intense belief, cared not how it affected me....such a heart broken little kid. Uncomfortable feelings and cripplingly self doubt. Living in a prison, with no way out.

Scared to lift my head or make my presence known, for the fear of upsetting you is better left alone. So safe inside myself I'll stay, away from everyone. Reflect and meditate on what I have become.

But you can't take my soul, I won't give you my life...Push all you like but I will always fight.

Shape and mould me to project the perfect life, use your words to cut through me like a knife. Your hurt you carry was never mine to wear, still I'm covered by the blanket you placed upon me unaware.

No more excuses for I'm no longer that child, will no longer carry your bruises, I'm stepping off this ride. I make all my own decisions now, for I'm the one who chooses. Taking back my power cutting through illusions.

Found forgiveness to be healing, with each layer I've been peeling. While underneath your perception of me, I became strong enough to break free. No longer so broken, impressionable and quiet spoken, all that replaced with a balancing of emotion.

So forgive you I do for who am I to judge, I won't lose any more power to you by holding a grudge.You may have took my childhood I won't give you my life, for this is my journey and this is my right.

But you can't take my soul, I won't give you my life...Push all you like but I will always fight.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Joanne Macdermott

Hi all I'm here because I love to rhyme and play with words, sharing pieces of myself through my writes, helps me heal the wounds that have cut deep, enticing me to push through and meet the real me within. Pain really is a beautiful thing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.