Poets logo

Forgotten Tears

A Self-Inflicted Mutiny

By Elizabeth AdolphiPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photograph by Author

Alone with my thoughts the world is caving in on me;Letter by letter, my thoughts unravel and swirl around me like a violent tornado.

The violence of my unraveled thoughts makes me shudder and slip into the darkness I know so well;down, down, down I go — wrapped into the oppressive void.

For a moment I struggle in fear, but then my limbs become still as they accept the inevitable;this road I know all too well and finally the heavy quiet lulls me to sleep.

In the deep recesses of my subconscious I can feel myself swimming through the fear, pain, and desperation I have hid so well from my conscious state;my fingers become chilled and moist and as I look down on them, I see they are frozen with my reservoir of tears.

These are tears I refused to shed because I was supposed to be the strong one, the one who always held it together when all else was falling apart;tears of loss from days that will never be again and for futures that have forgotten about me.

Try as I might to melt the solid tears, I cannot;rather, it travels up from my fingers to take over the rest of my body, sucking whatever warmth I had left.

I know not to fight this mutiny and so I allow my body to become as ice;it is quite fitting indeed, becoming one with ice.

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Adolphi

As a child I had a flair for the dramatic; as an adult, the flair has turned into a subtle, yet continuous hum. I love to see the world through different scopes and to tell stories based on the takeaway. Cheers!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.