Poets logo

Forgive & Forget

on moving forward

By Kay HusnickPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Forgive & Forget
Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

I want to move past it

forget like I forgave

but those concepts don't pair

as easily as we say they do

I can say I'm not mad

really, I'm not

but every moment feels like waiting

for the other shoe to drop

for tragedy to strike

for a seance of the ghost that used to be

I'll cower in my silence

memories like drive-in movie films in the night

flickering in front of two too-wide eyes

and I won't ask for the things I need to survive

singing sad songs in my room

instead

I'll try to love myself

as much as I love you

love poems
1

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.