Poets logo

Forgetting Forever

Such a pointless endeavor.

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes I remember

And sometimes I forget

Sometimes I like to wallow

In all of my regrets

Sometimes it’s sweet

And sometimes it stings

All those times

And all those things

We said

That it would be forever

But what does that even mean

When your entire life

Means only fifteen?

To what do you compare

When that’s all you’ve ever known?

To whom was I to turn

When I was never shown

What forever could ever mean?

And how forever never comes

A boy seems so much wiser

When you’re young and much too dumb

The time just keeps on passing

But I stay in just one place

I feel that I keep changing

But the expression on my face

It stays the same

And who’s to blame

When my own complacency

Brings so much shame?

I stand so still

As I wait for tomorrow

So I can continue to wait

And to wallow

In all my regrets

As I wait for forever

But it’s best to forget

Such a pointless endeavor

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.