Poets logo

Forgery

Your Love

By A.N.TiptonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
20
Forgery
Photo by Václav Pluhař on Unsplash

Your love is a forgery,

words flowing off your tongue like honeyed silk,

they fall flat under broken promises.

The veneer of your caresses mimic authenticity

as you hand out platitudes like counterfeit bills,

empty and worthless.

After, I am left holding my ashamed heart,

believing you to be a Rembrandt,

when really you were a pale imitation.

I see the flawed lines now.

Lying in the wake

of your crimes of dispassion,

I peel your lies off my skin,

revealing the scars of your misleading signature,

in loops and slashes and scrupulous scrawls,

turning to phony rivulets running down into fake tattoos.

I, too, fell victim to the sham of your soft lips,

tasting like cherries, only to turn to ash under the black light,

illuminating your washed out ink.

My salty tears mix with the rain as I'm left behind alone

with my bag of hoaxes, as you disappear like the Pink Panther,

with my trust and innocence.

For you were just an illusion,

playing the strings of my heart like an out of tune violin,

taking me to undiscovered heights,

only to turn off key,

my ears bleeding from the dissonance,

breaking off pieces of my weary soul.

And now

I'm left wondering,

is all love a forgery?

Thank you for reading. If you like this article please heart me, share or check out my other work here.

art
20

About the Creator

A.N.Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.

https://linktr.ee/A.N.Tipton

© 2023 A. N. Tipton

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.