Poets logo

Forged in Tradition

History is important, but not my destiny.

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Forged in Tradition
Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

Forged in Tradition

__________________

Is my legacy defined

by generations of toxicity?

Do traditions flow through my blood,

requiring my pledge?

***

Who am I? Pieces of me?

Or only an extension of you?

Who gets to choose?

Can’t I be loved, despite my say?

***

If I refuse, where do I go?

I beg, please, speak to me

in heartfelt honesty -

or are you burdened by the truth?

***

Do I disappoint the ancestors?

Is the next generation important?

Who gets to decide their fate?

I think it shall not be you.

Thank you for reading! Do you believe in the impacts of Generations Trauma?

social commentarysad poetry
4

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    A wonderful poem really enjoyed this. Great observations on expectations that can sometimes be diffcult to meet.

  • Katieabout a year ago

    What a thoughtful piece. I read it through several times to really let the meaning sink in. Lovely work!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yes I do agree, and can somewhat relate. Powerful piece.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh this hits hard. Both my husband and myself have had such family strife over the years, but we've both agreed that we made a new family, and we need to put our children first. Generational trauma is sadly alive and well. Great writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.