Poets logo

Foreseen:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Foreseen:
Photo by Kingsley Osei-Abrah on Unsplash

From you,

I felt the most genuine love,

And yet,

I cant be any nearer to you..

I fell for you,

as the best version of myself,

And yet,

I can’t be any closer to you...

I forgo,

as I search many a mans eyes,

And yet,

I can’t be there with you...

I could praise, laugh, support you,

And yet, my arms cradle myself tonight?

I do not,

seek love,avenge, or beseech

the warmth of touch...

And yet, I still fret..

Like a claw of a hammer

to a nail in a board...

How tough,

does this soft hearted woman

have to thrash,

As, I watch you lash out...

How many feelings do I surpress?

And yet,

my emotions feel abashed

taken out like trash...

Is this all a facade?

Feeling like a fascist

I could watch our love,

crash and burn

Then build a bon fire to keep us warm...

My co-dependency lights up like an ugly Christmas sweater

I know better,

But my heart is mute

I know the fate, of us,

Is moot

Hope feels minute

But how do I tell my lungs to quit taking in air?

How unfair to see, you through a screen-

and still never really feel seen...

love poems
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.