Poets logo

Forbidden Fruit

Things will never be the same

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

He begged me to meet him at his place, no sign of desperation showing;

His back towards the fire, face tight with arrogant knowing;

Desertion of the forbidden fruit unleashed my hunger and turned me ravenous.

Moral declines as my appetite increases – and it seems I have no desire to fast.

When I return, I close my eyes to save myself from what lies within;

Protecting my innocence one last moment before transgressional sin.

An unknown, familiar scent fills my lungs as I am thrust towards his stench;

Feeling the thirst driving me mad, even though I am drenched.

Breaking me in, he has me praying for mercy whilst I scream for more,

Creating anarchy as he dedicates himself to all that I ask for.

As I enter through the gates of heaven, I concede that I am journeying the pathway to hell.

In this moment I do not care if I live or die – for I am truly immortal.

He follows each commandment, and so, on my knees I worship his service;

My inner demons finding salvation in the sanctity of his ungodliness.

The serpents and the sinners will preach and declare that I am forsaken;

But, beneath their lies resides a truth, things will never be the same again.

fact or fictionlove poems
1

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    This was really intresting. I like your choice of language. It's different and captivating!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.