Poets logo

For the Ones We’ve Lost

Grieving

By Kenzie Lane StapletonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

When you lose someone

You never stop grieving them.

It doesn’t matter when you lost them.

It doesn’t matter how you lost them.

It’s irrelevant.

Because you lost them.

They’re gone.

When I see the colors blue and orange together,

I think of him

And his love for the Denver Broncos.

When I see pink and white roses or Christmas poinsettias,

I think of her

And her love for beautiful flowers.

When I look at my son

And I call him by his nickname, “Bob”,

I think of him

and how he would chuckle at the fact that I named my son after him.

Every time my son asks for candy,

I think of her

And how she would give him all the candy he wanted.

When you lose someone,

You never stop grieving them.

Time does help people heal

But it doesn’t stop the grieving.

When I think of where they’re both at now,

I know they’re at peace.

I know they are not in pain.

I know they’re at home,

where they belong.

But I still wish they were here.

I wish he got to meet his great grandson.

I wish she got to see him grow even more.

I wish we had more time.

I wish I would’ve listened,

when she said it was almost her time.

I wish I got to kiss his bald head

One last time.

When you lose someone

You never stop grieving.

You can go days, weeks, months, years even,

Without breaking down and crying nonstop.

And then there’s one night in October,

At 2315

After a beautiful day with family,

That you just break down

and can’t stop crying.

Because you miss them.

Because you miss their laughs.

Because you miss the way they yelled down the hall for their significant others attention.

Because you miss the way that she loved the holiday season.

Because you miss the way he loved football season.

Because you miss the ones you lost.

The ones you’ll never be done grieving.

Nothing can explain loss.

There’s no real words to explain what it’s like and what it feels like.

The only people who know what I mean are those who’ve lost too.

It gets better with time.

But you’ll never stop grieving

The ones you lost.

-For Grandpa Bob and Grandma Norma

I will love you forever. I will miss you always.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kenzie Lane Stapleton

CO - 26 - Mama - BBW - Thoughtfully Reckless

Author (no really, I wrote a book; The Shit People Go Through.)

IG: @kenzlanestapes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.