Poets logo

For The Fans

A Poem

By Rachel LightfootPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
For The Fans
Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

I once looked into the eyes of God;

Odd,

As I didn't expect him

To look back at me.

To stare so intently

As I just stood there,

My mind in a blur

As he softly spoke to me.

Not at all other-worldly,

His coat was kinda furry,

My mind went all whirly,

I probably said something girly

And twee.

I reached out a shaky hand,

Needed him to understand,

"Your music means so much to me,

So... I... I done some poems you see!"

As I passed him the envelope

My sense of self began to choke,

And as I spoke,

Words blew from me like smoke,

Tumbled from my lips

All fumbled,

Hazy and jumbled.

I kinda just mumbled.

I flew too close to the sun,

And when it was all done,

I asked for a hug.

What a daft mug!

An hilarious joke:

To beg for a hug

From a bloke!

The joke was on me:

I am 34 years old,

But became over-bowled

By the sight of a man

Writing his name.

(...For the fans.)

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Rachel Lightfoot

I like to play with words.

Poems, mostly.

https://rachellightfoot.wixsite.com/my-site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.