Poets logo

For People I Miss

Poems

By Conor MigganPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

You're Free

There are some who say, and they’re wrong

That comedy is for keeping the world believing that you’re strong

Comedy lets you in, says join me, love me

Help me find the funny side

So we can keep on keeping on

And slow the tide

Words are all I have

But you told me they can change the word

So I swear at least

That in my heart and in my home

You will live forever, free

To Poppy

I love an underdog

So busy, unknowing, passionate, honest.

A guide needing direction

Too much for some yet right for me

I started, not justified

By anything more than good intentions

Validated innately

In knowing so little you knew enough

Innocent acceptance, worth more than experienced judgement

Living for my living, my reason for being

Consider it my privilege to teach, protect and correct Owed to that angel face

Leave and forget me and that’s ok.

I have thanks for always.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Conor Miggan

31, Irish, living in London. I teach children for a living, on a good day they teach me too. I have a son, he's the greatest motivation I've ever had.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.