Poets logo

For Ending It

Poetry

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
For Ending It
Photo by Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

I will start by saying thank you

So, thank you. Thank you for taking your time

Thank you for kissing me the way that you did

But most of all thank you for letting me go

He will keep breaking hearts

I will keep passing off my heart

But you know what?

Thank God he broke my heart

Every heartbreak leads me closer to you

Thank him for breaking my heart

Because I would not have been solo

When I met you

I would have been with him and not knowing you

He broke my heart

But you spilled your drink on me

Thank God he broke my heart

You felt so clumsy

I hated that shirt anyway

I was laughing at the way you dance

You were trying your best to grab my hand

But I love the chase

I teased you until I gave you my number

Thank God he broke my heart

Otherwise, you would not be here

It's a good thing we were both single

It's a good thing you were ready

For me just like I was ready for you

So thank you for ending it

Thank you for asking me to dance

When you did not know how

Thank you for showing me a good time

When I forgot how

Thank you for breaking my heart

Every heartbreak and I am getting closer

Closer to you

That's all I want

Is to be close to you

My future is brighter because of you

He let me go

He said goodbye

And I had no idea I would be saying "hello"

Hello to my future

Hello to many laughs

Hello to arguments

Hello to dancing in our kitchen

Hello to unpacking our wedding presents

Hello to unpacking the boxes in our new home

Hello to her, we will call her Amelia

Hello to the pet fish

Hello to him, we will call him Xavier

Hello to the golden retriever

Hello to watching them grow up

And us grow old

Hello to our grandkids

Hello to our future

Because he said goodbye

Because he ended it

So thank you for ending it

And so I could start something new.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.