Poets logo

For All the Men Who Heal Different

Feel you...

By The Dani WriterPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I couldn’t fit you in to my broken-ness

so I buried it instead

Placed smiles and flowers on the outside while the inside filled with dread

And I whispered in your ears sweet nothings

and praised you for your dreams

while my heart and soul were shaking under the weight of such extremes

I watched your wings unfolding

so ready for first flight

How could I show then the chains that held me fast in darkest night?

Golden sun upon your countenance

Royalty truly yours by birth

A gift without exception bequeathed to all but forgotten is my worth

We’ve shared so much;

our bodies and souls,

but have never shed a tear

So...

...

I’m wondering if my broken parts exposed will cause you fear ...

I was abused when I was eight

and never told a soul

I’ve struggled with feeling dirty inside

and of course that takes a toll

Years of burden upon a boy for whom manhood was required

but counsel, healing and a shoulder to cry on is what the boy desired

I just wasn’t the same after that as my parents continued to fight

In my mind,

if I told I’d make things worse

but things were never right

It began a pattern of cover up to hold close the ones I loved

No happy endings for broken men that’s why my hands stayed gloved

No expressions of pity please, don’t want your eyes reflecting my downfall

No thinking less of me,

clichés or rules

as that just won’t help at all

As I push through my pain, hold me____don’t cringe if I should punch the wall

I have to take my power back

so don’t catch me when I fall

It’s part of the healing process for me that I’ve left for far too late

And I’m taking this process seriously___working for a truly clean black slate

I just need you to be my woman

yielding and magical like the moon

So that I can be your man

with positive adjustments coming soon

Be patient with me; a work in progress

and I promise this, I do

Should darkness enter and overwhelm your life

I’ll be there

for only you

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.