Poets logo

Fog Leaves My Side

Into moonshine

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to love the mist,

it kept me safe,

away from careful eyes,

measuring every sight,

words left me all too soon,

I could not take back what I treasured,

in your heart, I wanted to stay

and yet,

you closed the door,

let me run

with the shadows

forgotten and unheard,

avoided by sun rays,

I met none on my way,

no kindness or despair

just quiet in a desert

of feelings trapped

and frozen.

***

Fog was my friend

for a long time,

I told it secrets

soul couldn't bear to the sun,

I let go of my loss,

in trusting mist, I realized

I was never alone,

not while I had branches and flowers,

in this loving rain

each drop takes anger to sunrise

I yearn to smile again,

I can be love,

become the one I wish,

hold hands with happy dreams

today, tomorrow,

if mist should lift while I look up,

I will not miss the tendrils,

I learned what I must seek

and pray

that all will fly as it should be

into moonshine

and grace.

***

I wanted more than love,

a trust that never ends,

if you were not the one

to give, to comfort,

and receive

the tender care I shared,

I leave your door now, throw the key,

it doesn't fit lock anymore,

maybe it never was

meant for your own.

***

I yearn to step in peace,

won't let twilight descend on soul,

sun is my friend

and dreams

come flooding back in room

where happy heart keeps smiling,

no road back into sorrow,

I've melted bridge to netherland,

I'm here, and tomorrow

looks bright

and hopeful.

I can fly in my heart,

I trust this love I keep

for me

and all the kindred hearts

I meet.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie Brownabout a year ago

    Evocative, moving, well-crafted!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.