Poets logo

Fleeting Poems #1

Poems from the soul

By Melvin BektasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fleeting Poems #1
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Thirst-

We fight.

We breathe.

Do we choose this fate.

To be filled with so much anger and hate.

It is all consuming.

This thirst to be the one.

Is it a path not worth taking.

All the while the world is faking.

Pretenders to the throne.

A godless people who call themselves God.

Accept your horns.

For you have been deceived.

The dark brings about so much desire, so much unknown.

Step into the light, seeing the right path instead of blindly leaping to an unknown world.

Love-

I can’t breathe without you.

I can’t feel without you.

All I feel is numb.

A mask that covers my entire being.

To be myself and love.

To keep alive and be dead.

This grief binds me to shackles.

The only thing I can keep from you.

You must never feel this pain.

I will Gaurd you, keep you from the darkness.

Time-

It flows

Never stopping

Bringing about both ruin and destruction

It can be both terrible and beautiful

Pain, love, happiness and peace

All can be achieved

For within this realm everything is fair game

Possession-

The beast calls for more.

It hungers to be fed.

Do you give in?

Or do you control it?

Does it overtake you?

It’s random appearance brings much confusion.

The world transforms the more you deny it.

But the beast will come back again.

Hungry even more than before.

Tame the beast.

Learn to give it command.

There can not be light without the dark.

The brighter you get the larger your shadow is cast.

As is the beast

Find your balance.

And be at peace.

Filling light-

Don’t let go of the light.

Being in darkness changes people

When the light is low,

Look to love to renew the light.

It’s will ignites other light to come back

To banish the dark the looms over all hearts.

Let the light fill you

Carrying you to a world beyond this one.

Light is easily put out

Safeguard your light

And let hope rise.

And bring to dawn another day.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melvin Bektas

I don’t have a generic phrase to catch you to my profile. I like to write to access parts of me I didn’t know I had. Let me know what you think and I will do the same. May your lives be filled with peace, love, happiness, and health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.