Poets logo

Five Senses Don't Make a Whole

But the Sixth Sense Does

By Margaret BrennanPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
2

While I enjoy my gift of sight

And my nose enjoys each smell,

Without them I’d still be alive

And living very well.

I could live without my hearing

And without the joy of taste

But to lose the sense of feeling

To me is such a waste.

I can live with pictures in my mind

And some odors make me sneeze.

There are some noises way too loud.

Some foods make me wheeze.

But to lose the sense of feeling

Like my children’s gentle touch

Is a thing that I can’t live without –

It’s a thing I love so much.

So, while I love each sense I have,

As they make my life complete,

It’s the sense of touch I love the most

Yes, life is oh so sweet!

I thought life was so simple

With each sense that I feel,

But wait, what is that, there?

Is that thing even real?

Was that just a shadow

In the corner of my eye?

Am I having problems

My age cannot deny?

Perhaps if I recall my past,

A childhood memory

Will cause me to reflect

And know what I can’t see.

The shadow’s not a shadow

But a relative of mine,

Who came for a quick visit,

And perhaps to pass some time.

To check if I am still ok,

To see that I am well,

I say a silent prayer,

All evil, then to quell.

My senses are to be enjoyed,

Especially the one,

Who most people might ignore,

But offers me more fun.

My sixth sense of knowing

When spirits are around,

Offers so much comfort

But never makes a sound.

I’ll raise a glass to senses,

And yes, I say all six,

My life is more interesting,

With such a pleasant mix.

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    love this

  • Stephanie Brownabout a year ago

    Adore!! Well done !:)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.