Poets logo

"Fish, Cheese, and Forty-Two": A Spoken Word #WorthyVideo Post

Note: Originally published on the Worth a Read Too on October 13, 2020. Reposted due to website rebranding.

By Selys RiveraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Hi everyone! I hope you’re holding up well. Hopefully, better than me!

I’ve been feeling kind of down recently. I thought that maybe I could do something a little different to inspire me a little bit – maybe inspire you – and offer a little bit of hope.

So, I’ve actually turned to my poetry chapbook that I published earlier this year. It’s called, Rise in Love: A Poetry Chapbook (Revised Edition). You can find it on Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, Nook, and Scribd.

I have five sections in this poetry book. There’s You, Them, Life, God, and Me. And it’s about celebrating love in all the different areas of our life. So, I thought I would share one of my favorite ones. It’s from the Life section. It’s called, “Fish, Cheese, and Forty-Two.”

Ask five creatures the meaning of life

and you’ll get five different answers.

“The answer is fish,” says the Christian.

“Of course not! The answer is cheese,” says the mouse.

“It’s forty-two,” says the mathematician.

“There isn’t an answer,” says the louse.

But my high school chem teacher said

instead that it’s what held meaning in my life.

So, whatever those five answered?

I suppose that they’re right. (Rivera, 2020)

Okay, that’s all for today, my #worthyreaders! I’ll let you know when I’ve got another one up, but hopefully this gave you a little pick-me-up like it did me.

Thanks! Take care.

References

Rivera, S. (2020). Rise in Love: A Poetry Chapbook (Revised Edition). Worth a Read Too, LLC.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Selys Rivera

Selys Rivera is passionate about making the world a better place through her writing. In her free time, she is either reading, dancing, or playing with her dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.