Poets logo

Finished me off

Finishing t

By Charlotte Emma CePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
14
Finished me off
Photo by Eilzabeth Blanquel on Unsplash

yay

My parents sent me to-

“Eastbourne school of domestic economy!

To teach me to be the perfect woman & possibly the perfect house wife .

We had deportment, sewing, cookery on any every level.

I was still too young to audition for a London drama school.

However they still whilst at the finishing school, I had private drama lessons.

To let up my love of acting.

I seem to have in past chapter s not made school great , welll ... this was really not GREAT. The experience was horrible.

I often pretended to be going for auditions in London, just to get away.

I would catch the train to London Victoria, but get off at Gatwick & sunbathe on the roof .

Watching air New Zealand go was my best watch .

At some point, I have absolutely no idea what month .

I just got up one morning & left,

No explanation to the tutor s or head .

I couldn’t stand another day of smocking dresses & learning the fox trot.

I caught the train to Victoria, underground to Paddington & forward bound to Cheltenham.

My nerves did waver a bit as now although free how were my parents going to receive me ?

From Paddington to Swindon , I had no explanation, well the only one was , I hated & walked out.

That was going to be really really difficult to clarify.

I was scared, but it was worth it.

I hoped ❤️ The train stopped at Swindon ,

It was the perfect time to call , to give them an hour to change there minds on the level of screaming. The call to my mother was priceless.

She just almost jumped down the phone.

Hey. I was seventeen & I didn’t like it what the hell else was to explain.

Home! Home on the range , I was literally out of choice s now as , still to young to start Auditions.. I remember I had to go & get a job, I became back in the old Cheltenham fold , I was lucky, in the fact I was comfortable finically, but it came with a price.

The soirées evening s I was a young woman about to embark on a huge future in London.

As that’s how it worked, I had to be a something to make my parents keep there status , they didn’t think like that.

It was just the way they all played the one man up manship life

social commentary
14

About the Creator

Charlotte Emma Ce

A new a few & the the unforgiving ivory tower

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.