Poets logo

finished

When hope is gone, it's over before it's over

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
finished
Photo by Raamin ka on Unsplash

every gambit failed

a needle through my bluff

extracting all that's left of me

I hadn't

A hope

They held the plunger still and asked

if I had learned my lesson

if blue and gold in diamonds

had broken

my stubborn

necessities and habits stuck

in ruts along the floor

had they finally trained me

to leave it

for their

dribbling empty sliverings

dripping from their throats

puddling cold in tiles slick

reaching for

the door

to cut off the next escape before

it had the heart to start

gestating in my mind but not

a born thing

alive

the hope was some stillborn regret

the needle had no limit

they asked again but smiled wide

they knew I

was finished

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.