Poets logo

Finding My Peace Again

By Natalie Marie Stefani Rice

By Natalie Marie Stefani-RicePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Vinnie Hacker Imagines Pinterest.com

People stop me every day they ask me how I'm doing.

I really don't know what to say.

I nod my head in agreement.

"You'll be better off," they tell me.

"Things will get better just you wait and see."

But no one knows how I'm feeling inside.

Nobody knows how I'm feeling but me.

They all tell me that they've seen you.

I hear I've been replaced.

They tell me that they've seen you with someone other than me.

I just nod in agreement.

This has happened before.

This has happened a time or two.

For me this is nothing new.

I can tell they sense my disappointment.

They can feel my resentment.

"You'll be better off," they say as they turn and walk away.

I'm not exactly sure what to say.

Better off without you?

How do I respond?

Nobody knows how I'm feeling inside.

Nobody knows how I'm feeling but me.

"It's none of your business," I just want to shout.

"I'm taking it day by day."

"It's my problem," I tell them.

"I'll figure it out."

Meanwhile, I'm taking it slow and I'm finding my peace just so you know.

I'm even learning how to walk again with the help of a friend as he takes me by the hand...

He's given me laughter in a world filled with pain.

Teaching me to enjoy life and smile again.

I should be over this by now if I could just listen to them and figure out how.

A huge part of me is dying I thought you should know.

It's a part of me that I'll never show.

Because nobody knows how I'm feeling inside.

Nobody knows how I'm feeling but me.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Natalie Marie Stefani-Rice

So please grant me peace from the demons I see. They crowd me and stalk me and won't let me be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.