Poets logo

Finally I See

What happened to me

By Victoria GPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

I needed to grow,

I was put in the fire,

I am not God and I don’t see inside your mind,

I tried and I was scorched,

God saved me and healed me,

I pursued an idol,

And set my mind on someone who was not God,

Convicted and afflicted I felt and fell,

To God be the Glory,

As I was crushed,

I was brought to my knees,

Than to my face,

In desperation,

I had lost my strength,

My clothing of dignity had disappeared,

I was naked and exposed,

The idol I almost gave my all to watched and turned away,

Truly he could do nothing,

If he could, he did not try,

In fact he took what I offered and threw it away,

Ignored my love,

Trashed my kindness,

Cared little of my name,

Almost a year I gave away,

Wow,

Faster than I could say why, you chose someone else,

And called her the One,

I was embarrassed and downcast,

Hurt and pathetic,

On my face I flew,

In darkness I was and I grasped for light,

Anywhere, anyone,

Close to death,

I didn’t know if I could survive this time,

I thought it was right but I was blind to the wrong,

I know I am not completely to blame,

You played your part,

You say you play your cards well,

It upsets you when others don’t do the same,

But the thing is you thought it was a game,

I thought it was real,

I thought it was true,

Nothing ever happens what the heck,

Did you ever ask God or do you think your life is yours completely to play,

You may think you will always win because you are smart,

But God is my defender and He is wise and strong,

You played me with a song,

You were a vessel in the enemy’s hands,

To lead me here in these dessert lands,

It’s scorching heat is refining me,

It makes me cry, it makes me bleed,

I refuse to stay as ashes, as a puddle,

I asked God and He promised to bring beauty from this pain,

I feel strong and my stony heart turns to flesh,

Soft and strong,

My heart was tried by fire and proved true,

Delicate hands and arms are being made strong in battle,

Preparing me always for what’s to come,

Making me spotless to pick me up,

White as snow and ready for Him,

Patient like no one,

He presses me for the oil,

He knows now I am completely His,

If you come, you come to Him,

I am not double minded and I still believe,

But only in the promise and not what I think,

You will learn too as you will be pressed,

And I pray you pass the test,

Because what the enemy and perhaps you meant for evil,

God used for good 😊 ,

My smile is genuine and strong,

I love even when wronged,

I do not seek your face brother,

To give me my hearts desire,

If you need me I’ll be dancing in the fire,

I am found in Jesus Christ alone,

I will never leave Him,

His face is all I need,

More than enough,

More than I can take,

More than I can give,

He was my real and true,

He took me seriously,

He laughed with me,

His eyes were always on me,

His attention I always had,

His love is poetry,

He did not play cards against me and watched as I made the wrong moves with a smile,

He ripped me out of a game that was worthless, reckless, and vile,

He protected me in the gentlest of ways,

He defended me from shame and called out my name,

Brought me into the unknown and He is so real,

Rich in true living,

He has told me great things,

Lifted me in the air in love,

I’m in a endless meadow,

I’m surrounded by flowers,

My eyes are turned towards the sun,

I behold someone bigger than the ocean,

Someone wider than the sky’s,

Holy Holy Holy is my song,

I’m am Yours, is my stance,

Great is His love,

Better than life is time with Him,

Surely God has the last laugh,

Because what we thought was evil turned out for our good,

Worthless is what I was chasing after,

At last I see the light.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Victoria G

Reading and writing ☀️ Keep the faith friends🙌🏽

Jesus is everything🙌🏽❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.