Poets logo

Finally Accepted

By: Alexandria Kennamer

By Alexandria Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Finally Accepted
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

Before I met you, I had to scream to be heard.

There was a time, when expectations were swords, twisted hilt-deep into my chest.

Gaping, oozing wounds onto my soul...

And I had no right to be upset.

Before I met you, I spent many nights alone.

Curled under the weight of the world, crumbling, wondering...

If my heart would ever find a home.

Oh, there were Fosters, no doubt.

And users, abusers, cheaters to boot...

They swooped in like vultures, under the disguise of a mouse.

Fraying, breaking, disentangling all too soon.

And then your fingers traced all of my scars and blemishes with such tenderness - I trembled.

Where others found fault, you saw a warrior.

Bold, brave, beautiful, you whisper so sweetly, so nimble.

You, My Hero, give me courage to fight.

Before you, all I knew were empty promises and hurt, the bitterness of being repeatedly broken…

You’ve filled me with love, laughter and life.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alexandria

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.